top of page
  • Writer's pictureMargaret Amatt

The Glenbriar Series: A Love Letter to Highland Perthshire

As an author, I'm always on the lookout for new and exciting settings for my stories. I love setting my stories in Scotland and readers of my first series will know that I set it on the Isle of Mull, my favourite holiday destination. But I also love the area I live in! My home is close to the picturesque towns of Dunkeld and Pitlochry in Highland Perthshire, Scotland, and the more I thought about it, the more I realised a small town could be the perfect setting for my latest book series, "The Glenbriar Series."

I chose to make it a fictional town this time as it's 'too close to home' (quite literally) and, although I never base my characters on real people, I didn't want any close friends thinking someone in a book was meant to be them. But I don't want to lose the connection to Highland Perthshire so I've made connections to real places in all the stories.

Set in the fictional town of Glenbriar, the series follows the lives of the town's residents as they navigate love, loss, and everything in between. From rolling hills to the sparkling lochs, Glenbriar is a beautiful place filled wildlife, reflecting the natural heart of area. It was a joy to bring this town to life on the page, and I hope that readers will fall in love with it just as I have.

One of the things that I love most about writing "The Glenbriar Series" is the opportunity to explore the rich history and culture of Highland Perthshire. From ancient standing stones to the traditional Highland games, the area is steeped in tradition and folklore. I have woven these elements into the series, giving readers a glimpse into the unique and fascinating culture of the Scottish Highlands. In book one, you'll see residents enjoying a music festival and learning about the legend of the illicit distilling of whisky linked to the Loch View Hotel. There may also be rumours of a monster in the loch - no, not Nessie!

The series currently has five planned books, with two already available for pre-order. While each book can be enjoyed as a standalone, readers will find that the stories and characters are interconnected, making it a perfect series to be read in order.

Writing "The Glenbriar Series" has been a labour of love for me. I have poured my heart and soul into these books, and I cannot wait for you to experience the magic of Glenbriar. If you're a fan of romance, fun, and the beauty of Scotland, then "The Glenbriar Series" is the perfect series for you.


For those who have read my first series, "Scottish Island Escapes," you may recognise some familiar faces in "The Glenbriar Series." The series is a spinoff from"Scottish Island Escapes" and brings back some of the beloved characters in new and exciting ways. Fans of the first series will enjoy catching up with old friends and discovering how their stories have evolved.

Freebie to start you off!

"New Beginnings in Glenbriar" is a heartwarming short story that will transport you to the charming town of Glenbriar and introduce you to some characters. This story tells the story of Stella, who returns to her hometown to open an upcycled furniture shop, and George, a lonely financial advisor who has had his life on hold, waiting for his high school crush. The story is a perfect blend of romance and nostalgia, as Stella and George navigate their feelings and the challenges they face, and the beautiful setting of Glenbriar adds a glorious backdrop to the story.

It also sets the scene for the series, as you will get a glimpse of the characters and the town that'll be explored in more depth in upcoming books. If you're a fan of small-town romance, nostalgia, and relatable characters, then "New Beginnings in Glenbriar" is the perfect story for you.

Thank you for considering "The Glenbriar Series" for your reading list.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page